Sign In or Register | Thursday, October 18, 2018
saboy,   2/21/2010 1:42:12 PM Add saboy as a Friend | Send Message
Cape Town, South Africa See Profile
India Beat South Africa in Last-Ball Thriller
Earlier, contributions from the top order saw India post a total of 298 for nine in the first One-Day International against South Africa at Sawai Mansingh Stadium here Sunday.

After being asked to bat, Indian innings revolved around Suresh Raina, who top scored with 58, Virender Sehwag (46) and Dinesh Karthik (44) while Mahendra Singh Dhoni (26) and Virat Kohli (31) provided them support.

All the batsmen except Sachin Tendulkar, who was unfortunately run out for 4, got a good start but failed to convert it into a big score, leaving the lower order to take charge in the crucial end overs.

India scored at a good pace but South Africa did not allow any partnership to flourish. Jacques Kallis, who is leading the side in place of injured Graeme Smith, took three wickets.

Sehwag and Karthik added 79 runs in quick time after India lost Tendulkar with just 10 runs on the board.

Sehwag struck six fours and two sixes in his 37-ball innings, but he too, was run out.

Karthik, who hit five fours and one six, and Dhoni then kept the scoring rate moving before the former was dismissed by fast bowler Charl Langeveldt. Dhoni followed Karthik to the pavilion, becoming the first victim of Kallis.

Raina and Kohli kept up the good job with a brisk 66-run stand for the fifth wicket. With both at the crease India reached the 200-mark in the 35th over and were eyeing a big total but South Africa struck back with crucial blows.

Kohli left with Herschelle Gibbs taking a fine low catch at short mid-wicket off Morne Morkel.

Yusuf Pathan (18), who was making a comeback to the Indian team, did not stay for long, falling to left-arm seamer Wayne Parnell.

Left-handed Raina, who hit six fours and one six in his 63-ball knock, was the next to go, dismissed by Kallis.

Ravindra Jadeja (22), Praveen Kumar (13) and Ashish Nehra (16) then chipped in to take India closer to a competitive total.

India: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (capt), Sachin Tendulkar, Virender Sehwag, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, Dinesh Karthik, Yusuf Pathan, Praveen Kumar, Ashish Nehra, Shanthakumaran Sreesanth, Ravindra Jadeja.

South Africa: Jacques Kallis (capt), Herschelle Gibbs, Loots Bosman, AB de Villiers, Alviro Petersen, Johan Botha, Mark Boucher, Charl Langeveldt, Albie Morkel, Wayne Parnell, Dale Steyn.

Umpires: Ian Gould (ENG) and Amiesh Saheba (IND)

TV umpire: Sanjay Hazare (IND)

Match referee: Andy Pycroft (ZIM)

Source: Hindustan Times
Tags:India Beat South Africa in Last-Ball Thriller
Bookmark and Share Email Email to Friends Print Print
Please Sign In  or Register  to post a comment.

Facebook Twitter YouTube Instagram Linkedin African Music
Most Popular

Post a New Story from your Account, then Vote for it Here by clicking Push
Latest Forums
Latest Polls
    Nigeria    Kenya    
South Africa    Ghana    
Egypt    Ethiopia    Zimbabwe    Uganda    Tanzania    
Africa    Kenya a Hot bed of Investments    Test    Pope Francis On Safari In Kenya    Malawi    Sudan    The 2nd Pan-African Cultural Festival Photos    Tunisia    2010 World Cup Draw: Which Country Has the Hottest Fans?    Somalia    
Site Map | Help | Send Feedback | Contact us | User Agreement | Privacy | About us | Advertise
Copyright © 2016-2017 Africa Updates Inc. All rights reserved